STATE OF CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF RESOURCES RECYCLING AND RECOVERY

IN THE MATTER OF THE ACCUSATION AGAINST:
SLEEP BEDDER, LLC

Respondent.

AGENCY NO: IH23-001-MAT

DEFAULT ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION FOR IMPOSITION OF PENALTIES

(Public Resources Code Sections 42985-42994 and Title 14 California Code of
Regulations Sections 18959-18964)

INTRODUCTION AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

1. The Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (Department) served SLEEP
BEDDER LLC, a California limited liability company (Respondent), an accusation in the
above-captioned matter on January 26, 2023, alleging that Respondent committed
multiple violations of the Used Mattress Recycling and Recovery Act (Public Resources
Code (PRC) section 42985 et seq.). Pursuant to the Act and its implementing
regulations (Title 14 of the California Code of Regulations (14 CCR) section 18959 et
seq.), the Accusation asserts that Respondent should be penalized $7,700 for such
violations.

2. Included with the Accusation was a form for requesting a hearing (Request for
Hearing) to refute the Department’s allegations. Respondent was provided more than
15 days from the date of service to file a Request for Hearing.

3. Because Respondent did not file a Request for Hearing or otherwise communicate to
the Department that it wishes to challenge the allegations against it, the Department
issues this Default Administrative Decision for Imposition of Penalties (Decision)
pursuant to the Act, 14 CCR section 18971, and Government Code section 11520.

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY AUTHORITY

4. The Act created the framework for an “extended producer responsibility” program for
the end-of-life handling of mattresses in California. (PRC section 42985.) The Act aims
to reduce illegal dumping, increase recycling, and substantially reduce public agency
costs for the end-of-life management of used
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mattresses, (PRC section 42985(a)(1)), while also ensuring that consumers have
convenient, no-cost options available for collection or drop-off of used mattresses. (PRC
sections 42985(b), 42987.1(1), 42987.1(n), 42992.) The Act authorizes the Department
to certify a mattress recycling organization (MRO) to develop, finance, and implement a
convenient and cost-effective program to recover and recycle used mattresses in the
state. (PRC sections 42985(a)(1), 42987(a)(1).)

5. The Act requires all mattress retailers in California to do the following:
a) register with the MRO (PRC section 42987(b)(1));

b) not sell, offer for sale, or distribute a mattress in the state unless the retailer is in
compliance with the Act and the manufacturer of the mattress is identified on the list of
compliant manufacturers maintained on the Department’s website (PRC sections
42987(c), 42993(a), 42993(d));

¢) add a recycling charge to the purchase price of each mattress and remit the charge
to the MRO (PRC section 42989.1(a), (b));

d) when adding the mattress recycling charge to the purchase price of each mattress,
clearly display the charge as a separate line item on the invoice, receipt, or equivalent
document (PRC section 42989.1(a));

e) offer consumers the option to have a used mattress picked up, at no additional cost,
when their new mattress is delivered (PRC section 42992(a));

f) upon request by the Department, and as necessary for the Department to determine
whether the retailer is in compliance with the Act, provide the Department with access to
the retailer’s facilities and operations, provide relevant records, and maintain such
records for at least three years (PRC section 42993.3(a), (b)); and

g) monitor the Department’s website to determine if the manufacturers or renovators of
the mattresses the retailer sells are in compliance with the Act (PRC section 42993(c)).

6. There is only one certified MRO: Mattress Recycling Council, Inc. (MRC), which
administers the only mattress recycling program under the Act.

7. Pursuant to PRC section 42993.1 and 14 CCR sections 18970 and 18971, the
Department may impose an administrative civil penalty for violations of the Act. The
Department has authority to impose an administrative civil penalty of up to five hundred
dollars ($500) per day for each violation, but, if the
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violation is intentional, knowing, or reckless, the Department may impose an
administrative civil penalty of up to five thousand dollars ($5,000) per day for each
violation.

FACTUAL FINDINGS

8. The Department adopts the allegations of the Accusation, as reproduced below, as
its factual findings in this matter. By not filing a Request for Hearing, Respondent
waived its right to challenge these allegations through the informal hearing procedures
outlined in the Administrative Procedure Act (Gov. Code section 11445.10 et seq.).

9. Respondent owns and operates an online mattress retail store under the name
“Sleep Bedder,” using the URL sleepbedder.com.

10. From at least as early as January 2014 through approximately 2021, Respondent
also operated physical retail stores, also under the name “Sleep Bedder,” including one
at 2867 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA.

11. Although Respondent registered with MRC as a retailer in 2016, it has reported no
sales and has remitted no recycling charges since approximately January 2017.

12. On July 16, 2021, Sonia Weksler, the sole owner of Respondent, informed the
Department that it should send correspondence related to Respondent’s compliance
with the Act to Respondent via email at sleepbedder@gmail.com.

13. On August 2, 2021, the Department sent a letter via email to Respondent with the
subject line “California Mattress Stewardship Law Inspection — Remote Compliance
Inspection Letter of Inquiry” (Letter of Inquiry).

14. The Letter of Inquiry explained that, as part of its routine compliance evaluation
efforts, the Department required Respondent to provide certain records to demonstrate
that Respondent was complying with the Act. In particular, the Letter of Inquiry
demanded the following records (Required Compliance Records):

a) documentation showing that Respondent had registered with MRC;
b) copies of three recent receipts for sales of mattresses;

¢) documentation showing that Respondent had remitted to MRC recycling charges
collected during May 2021;
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d) documentation or a statement demonstrating whether Respondent offers customers
the option of having a used mattress picked up upon delivery of a purchased mattress;

e) documentation or a statement indicating whether Respondent complies with the
requirement that it monitor the Department’s website to verify that the manufacturers
and renovators of mattresses offered for sale are registered with MRC, as required by
the Act; and

f) a complete list of manufacturers and renovators that supply the mattresses that
Respondent offers for sale.

15. Enclosed with the Letter of Inquiry were optional questionnaires for Respondent to
fill out to provide statements explaining whether it was complying with the used mattress
takeback and website monitoring requirements (the Optional Questionnaires).

16. Also enclosed with the Letter of Inquiry was an informational pamphlet, “California’s
Used Mattress Recovery and Recycling Program Enforcement Overview” (Mattress
Program Enforcement Brochure), regarding the Act, its requirements, and the
Department’s role in enforcing it.

17. The Letter of Inquiry provided instructions for how to respond and demanded that
Respondent produce the Required Compliance Records within 15 days (by August 17,
2021).

18. Respondent did not respond to the Letter of Inquiry or otherwise provide any of the
Required Compliance Records.

19. On September 3, 2021, the Department sent Respondent a Notice of Violation (First
Notice of Violation) via email.

20. Included with the First Notice of Violation were the Optional Questionnaires, the
Mattress Program Enforcement Brochure, and an inspection report identifying seven
provisions of the Act that the Department, based on Respondent’s failure to respond to
the Letter of Inquiry, alleged that Respondent

was violating. The notice explained that Respondent was subject to penalties of up to
$5,000 per day for such violations.

21. The violations identified in the inspection report included the failure to provide
records to the Department upon request, collect the recycling charge and display it as a
line item on receipts, remit recycling charges to MRC, and offer the option to have used
a mattress picked up free of charge upon delivery of new mattresses.
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22. The First Notice of Violation reiterated the Department’s demand that Respondent
provide the Required Compliance Records and set a due date of October 3, 2021 (thirty
days from date of the notice).

23. On September 30, 2021, an inspector for the Department called and emailed Ms.
Weksler to remind her of Respondent’s obligation to respond to the First Notice of
Violation.

24. Respondent did not respond to the First Notice of Violation or provide any of the
Required Compliance Records.

25. On October 7, 2021, the Department sent Respondent another Notice of Violation
(Second Notice of Violation) via email and courier.

26. The Second Notice of Violation included an updated inspection report, the Optional
Questionnaires, and the Mattress Program Enforcement Brochure, and identified the
same violations as did the First Notice of Violation. It again explained that Respondent
was subject to penalties of up to $5,000 per day and demanded that Respondent
provide the Required Compliance Records, except that it required Respondent to
provide all sales receipts for mattress sales between June 1 and August 31, 2021
(Additional Receipts). The notice demanded production of records by November 8,
2021.

27. Respondent did not respond to the Second Notice of Violation or otherwise provide
any of the Required Compliance Records or Additional Receipts.

28. On November 19, 2021, the Department sent Respondent another notice regarding
its violations of the Act (Notice of Continued Violation). The Notice of Continued
Violation was sent via email and courier.

29. The Notice of Continued Violation included an updated inspection report and
identified the same violations as did the previous notices. The notice again explained
Respondent’s obligation to provide records demonstrating that it was no longer violating
the Act. It also noted that Respondent was subject to penalties of up to $5,000 per day.

30. The Notice of Continued Violation demanded production of records by November
29, 2021.

31. Respondent did not respond to the Notice of Continued Violation or provide any of
the Required

Compliance Records or Additional Receipts.
LEGAL CONCLUSIONS

32. Respondent is a retailer subject to the Act’s requirements because it sells and offers
for sale
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mattresses in California.

33. Respondent intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly violated the Act as set forth in the
Accusation and below.

34. In consideration of the totality of the circumstances, including the regulatory factors
listed in 14 CCR section 18970, a penalty of $7,700 is appropriate, as further detailed
below.

COUNT I

RESPONDENT FAILED TO PROVIDE THE DEPARTMENT WITH REQUESTED
RECORDS, IN VIOLATION OF PRC SECTION 42993.3(a)(2).

35. Respondent’s failure to provide records in response to the Letter of Inquiry (dated
August 2, 2021), First Notice of Violation (dated September 3, 2021), Second Notice of
Violation (dated October 7, 2021), and Notice of Continued Violation (dated November
19, 2021) violated PRC section 42993.3(a)(2). This violation persisted throughout all
times relevant to the facts described herein.

36. In light of the factors listed in 14 CCR section 18970, a penalty of $3,100 for
Respondent’s continuous violation of PRC section 42993.3 is appropriate. The
Department penalizes Respondent based on its continuous violation of the Act for at
least 62 days, with a per-day penalty amount of $50. The minimum basis of 62 days
equals the sum of the periods during which the Department’s written notices demanded
that Respondent provide records so the Department could assess its compliance with
the Act:

Response Due | Duration
Notice Date of Notice Date (Days)
First Notice of Violation September 3, 2021 | October 3, 2021 30
Second Notice of Violation October 7, 2021 November 8, 2021 32
Notice of Continued Violation November 19, 2021 | HOYember 29, 10
Total 62

COUNT Il

RESPONDENT FAILED TO COLLECT AND REMIT RECYCLING CHARGES, IN
VIOLATION OF PRC SECTION 42989.1

37. Since at least as early as August 2, 2021, Respondent has sold mattresses without
adding the recycling charge to the price of each mattress and showing the charge as a
line item on receipts. Each such
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sale has constituted a violation of PRC section 42989.1(a). 38. Even if Respondent did
collect any recycling charges in compliance with PRC section 42989.1(a), it
nevertheless violated PRC section 42989.1(b) because it never remitted such charges
to MRC.

39. In light of the factors listed in 14 CCR section 18970, a total penalty of $2,300 for
Respondent’s violations of PRC section 42989.1 is appropriate. Although Respondent
began violating section 42989.1 at least as early as August 2, 2021, and continued to
violate it at least through the date of the Accusation, the Department penalizes
Respondent $25 per day over the period of 92 days covered by the Additional Receipts.
The Second Notice of Violation demanded the Additional Receipts so that the
Department could assess Respondent’s compliance with PRC section 42989.1 on each
of those days (June 1, 2021, through August 31, 2021).

40. Even if there was insufficient evidence to establish violations of PRC section
42989.1, Respondent would have caused such insufficiency by intentionally not
providing the Department records relevant to those violations, as described in Count I. A
$2,300 penalty is therefore appropriate either as a penalty for Respondent’s intentional
violation of section 42989.1 or as an additional penalty for the intentional violation of
PRC section 42993.3(a)(2) set forth in Count I.

COUNT 1l

RESPONDENT FAILED TO OFFER FREE PICKUP OF USED MATTRESSES
UPONDELIVERY OF NEW MATTRESSES, IN VIOLATION OF PRC SECTION
42992(a)

41. Since at least as early as August 2, 2021, Respondent has violated PRC section
42992(a) every time it delivers a mattress because it does not offer customers the
option to have a used mattress picked up.

42. In light of the factors listed in 14 CCR section 18970, a total penalty of $2,300 is
appropriate for Respondent’s violations of PRC section 42992(a). Although Respondent
has been violating section 42992(a) since at least as early as August 2, 2021, and
continued to violate it at least through the date of the Accusation, the Department
penalizes Respondent $25 per day over the period of 92 days covered by the Additional
Receipts. The Second Notice of Violation demanded the Additional Receipts so that the
Department could assess Respondent’s compliance with PRC section 42989.1 on each
of those days (June 1, 2021, through August 31, 2021).
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43. Even if there was insufficient evidence to establish violations of PRC section
42992(a), Respondent would have caused such insufficiency by intentionally not
providing the Department records relevant to those violations, as described in Count |. A
$2,300 penalty is therefore appropriate either as a penalty for Respondent’s intentional
violation of section 42992(a) or as an additional penalty for the intentional violation of
PRC section 42993.3(a)(2) set forth in Count I.

ORDER

Good cause appearing, the Department acts in accordance with Government Code
section 11520, subdivision (a), and orders as follows:

Respondent SLEEP BEDDER, LLC is hereby ordered to pay an administrative penalty
of $7,700 to the Department within 30 (thirty) calendar days of the date of this Decision.

RESPONDENT’S RIGHT TO FILE WRITTEN MOTION

Pursuant to government code section 11520, subdivision (c), Respondent has the right
to serve the Department with a written motion requesting that the decision be vacated
and stating the grounds relied on:

Within seven days after service on the respondent of a decision based on the
respondent's default, the respondent may serve a written motion requesting that the
decision be vacated and stating the grounds relied on. The agency in its discretion may
vacate the decision and grant a hearing on a howing of good cause. As used in this
subdivision, good cause includes, but is not limited to, any of the following:

(1) Failure of the person to receive notice served pursuant to Section 11505.
(2) Mistake, inadvertence, surprise, or excusable neglect.

(Gov. Code section 11520(c).)

This Decision shall become effective on the date signed below.
Dated: June 5, 2023

[SIGNED]

MINDY MCINTYRE

Chief Deputy Director

Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery
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