News Release

Contact: Date:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CalRecycle Contact for your Agency: (see https://www2.calrecycle.ca.gov/StateAgency/WasteMgmt/AnnualReports/Contacts)

Organic Waste Recycling Required for More Businesses

is announcing that

businesses in its jurisdiction that generate 2 cubic yards or more of commercial solid waste combined (trash, recycling, and organics) per week are now required by state law to recycle their organic waste.

AB 1826 Chesbro (Chapter 727, Statutes of 2014)

(http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201320140AB1826&search_keywor ds) requires that businesses, including commercial or public entities like state agencies, schools, school districts, hospitals, stores, restaurants, industrial businesses, for-profit or nonprofit organizations, multi-family residential dwellings with 5+ units*, and others must recycle their organic waste based on the amount and type of waste they produce on a weekly basis.

*Note: Multifamily dwellings are not required to have a food waste diversion program.

Businesses can meet the mandatory organics recycling requirements through any of the following:

- Source separate organic waste from other waste and participate in a waste recycling service that includes collection and recycling of organic waste.
- Recycle organic waste on site, or self-haul its organic waste off site for recycling.
- Subscribe to an organic waste recycling service that includes mixed waste processing that specifically recycles organic waste.

The Mandatory Commercial Organics Recycling law (AB 1826) was signed in 2014 to help achieve California's aggressive recycling and greenhouse gas emission goals. Organic waste in landfills emits 20 percent of the state's methane, a short-lived super pollutant approximately 84 times more potent on a 20-year timescale than carbon dioxide. When diverted from landfills, this material can be composted or used to produce renewable energy, and edible food can be diverted to feed Californians in need.

In addition, the law requires businesses that have customers consume recyclables and organics on site to have front-of-the-house containers that are visible, easily accessible, and clearly marked.

Click here to learn more about California's Mandatory Commercial Organics Recycling Law (https://www.calrecycle.ca.gov/Recycle/Commercial/Organics/). For outreach and education materials, including signage for waste and recycling bins, see CalRecycle's Education/Outreach Toolkit (https://www.calrecycle.ca.gov/recycle/commercial/organics/prtoolkit).