

December 10, 2019

Jared Blumenfeld Secretary for Environmental Protection Scott Smithline CalRecycle Director

Mike Condon, Chair, EAC Department of Environmental Health 5500 Overland Avenue, #170 San Diego, CA 92123

Subject: Enforcement Advisory Council (EAC) Resolutions 2019-001, 2019-002, 2019-003, and 2019-004, EAC Service, Election of EAC Officers, and Ralph Hunter Memorial Award

Dear Mr. Condon,

The Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle) joins the EAC in thanking Maria Mendoza for her service, commitment, and contributions as EAC Co-Vice Chair from February 2019 to April 2019. CalRecycle also extends our appreciation for past contribution of service and commitment as EAC Co-Vice Chairs by yourself and Ryan Beahm from April 2019 to November 2019, and for John H. Wells' leadership as the EAC Chair from October 2017 to December 2019 along with his continued service as a member of the EAC. And now, we congratulate you as the newly elected EAC Chair along with Ryan Beahm in his role as EAC Co-Vice Chair.

EAC's assistance and partnership is greatly valued by CalRecycle in providing consistent enforcement of solid waste mandates for each jurisdiction. We rely on the EAC to assist CalRecycle in solid waste programs, trainings, and other technical matters related to effective solid waste management.

We also join the EAC in congratulating Kathy Cross as the 2018 recipient of the Ralph Hunter Memorial Award. Cathy, as a past EAC Chair, is worthy of this award as evident by her many achievements and contributions over the past 19 years in working with California's Local Enforcement Agencies.

Sincerely,

Mark de Bie, Deputy Director

Waste Permitting, Compliance & Mitigation Division

cc: EAC Members

Martin Perez, Manager, Training and Assistance Section Christine Sosko, Chair, CCDEH Solid Waste Policy Committee