Announcement Ralph Hunter Memorial Award

2021 Recipient

Gregory Reyes

Program Chief Riverside County Department of Environmental Health Local Enforcement Agency

The Ralph Hunter Memorial Award is in recognition of an individual who has made a major impact to the solid waste field/Local Enforcement Agency (LEA) program through development of a special or new program, involvement with educational activities, committees and/or workgroups, permitting and/or enforcement, or a special achievement that enhances the protection of public and environmental health principles.

Greg has over 25 years of experience in the environmental health field. He graduated from California State University, Fresno, with a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Health in 1995 and obtained his Registered Environmental Health Specialist certification in 1997. Some of his notable contributions include:

- Conference speaker at the California Environmental Health Association (CEHA), Annual Educational Symposium in 2006, 2012, 2013, 2014
- Speaker at the CalRecycle/LEA Technical Training Series in 2015 and 2018
- Volunteered to assist Sonoma County's wildfire emergency response in 2017
- Speaker at the California Bioresources Symposium in 2019
- Speaker on Senate Bill 1383 at the Southern California Waste Forum in 2020, the CalRecycle-Riverside County joint presentation in 2021, and the Coachella Valley Council of Governments and Western Riverside Council of Governments in 2021
- Participated and/or chaired multiple workgroups and technical advisory committees for LEA, Food, Medical Waste, Body Art, Hazardous Materials, and Recreational Health
- Developed and implemented Riverside County's LEA training program
- Works closely with stakeholders, including developers, Regional Water Quality Control Boards, and the Environmental Protection Agency on multiple issues of environmental health

Greg is a worthy recipient of the 2021 Ralph Hunter Memorial Award. Please join us in congratulating him on this achievement.

Previous Ralph Hunter Award Recipients

2020: Gregory Schirle, San Mateo County LEA 2019: Jeffrey Marshall, Kern County LEA 2018: Kathy Cross, Orange County LEA 2017: David Thompson, City of Los Angeles LEA 2016: Lars Seifert, Imperial County LEA 2015: Ossama "Sam" Abu Shaban, Orange County LEA 2015: Janet E. Gardner, Fresno County LEA 2014: Christopher G. Rummel, Santa Clara County LEA 2013: Lisa J. Jameson, Sacramento County LEA 2012: Ricardo M. Serrano, Solano County LEA 2011: William E. Prinz, City of San Diego LEA 2010: Rebecca Lafreniere, San Diego County LEA 2009: Lori Braunesreither, Contra Costa County LEA 2008: Patti Henshaw, Orange County LEA 2007: Greg Pirie, Napa County LEA 2006: Bob Swift, Sonoma County LEA 2005: Tammy Derby, Sacramento County LEA 2004: Mike Schmaeling, Santa Barbara County LEA