

Yana Garcia
Secretary for Environmental Protection
Rachel Machi Wagoner
CalRecycle Director

November 20, 2023

Norma Campos Bernal, EAC Chair Santa Barbara County Public Health Department Environmental Health Services Division 225 Camino Del Remedio Santa Barbara, CA 93110

Subject: Enforcement Advisory Council Resolution 2023-03 – Selection of Dorcas (Dee) Hanson-Lugo as the Recipient of the 2022 Ralph Hunter Memorial Award

Dear Ms. Campos Bernal,

CalRecycle joins the Enforcement Advisory Council in congratulating Dorcas (Dee) Hanson-Lugo as the recipient of the 2022 Ralph Hunter Memorial Award.

Dee is a worthy recipient of this award, as evidenced by her many achievements and contributions to protecting the environment and public health. Her commitment to environmental health has been demonstrated by her dedication, involvement, and collaboration with partner agencies in the implementation, monitoring, and evaluation of the mitigation measures for Sunshine Canyon Landfill, through her work to bring enforcement action against illegal dumping in Los Angeles County, and her leadership in the roles as the EAC Co-Chair and Southwestern LEA Chair.

CalRecycle looks forward to the presentation of the Ralph Hunter Memorial Award to Dee Hanson-Lugo at the 2024 Hybrid Technical Training Series.

Sincerely,

Mark de Bie Digitally signed by Mark de Bie Date: 2023.11.20

Mark de Bie, Deputy Director Waste Permitting, Compliance & Mitigation Division

Cc: EAC Members

Martin Perez, CalRecycle, Training and Assistance Section Paulina Lawrence, CalRecycle, Branch Chief, Permitting and Assistance Branch Charles Genkel, CCDEH, Solid Waste and Resource Recovery Committee Lars Seifert, CCDEH, Solid Waste and Resource Recovery Committee