Option A or B is not required if a

certified recycling center opens in
your convenience zone.

If you choose Option

A, you are required to STATE OF CALIFORNIA
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brought in for recycling. RECYGLING
The refund value for CENTER
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CalRecycle’)

California Refund Value

ounces or more is ten
cents ($0.10).

If you choose Option B, you are agreeing to pay
CalRecycle a $100/day opt-out fee. By choosing
Option B, you are not required to redeem CRV
beverage containers in your store.

Also, in lieu of posting a sign showing the name and
address of the nearest state-certified recycling center,
you are required to post a sign of at least 10 by 15
inches at all public entrances to your place of business
that specifies one of the following:

1. Beverage containers may be redeemed at all open
cash registers within this store.

2. Beverage containers may be redeemed at (specify a
designated location) within this store.

You may use your own sign or the sign provided by
the Department to post this information.

If you have questions regarding this handout
or specific questions regarding dealer require-
ments, you may contact the Department at:

(916) 322-0195,
or call 1-800-RECYCLE and
your call will be directed to the

appropriate staff.
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Important Information for
Store Owners about

California’s Bottle
& Can Recycling Law

This brief informational handout is to
inform storeowners who sell beverages, in
bottles and cans, of their responsibilities
under the California Beverage Container
Recycling and Litter Reduction Act.




Beverages included in the
California Redemption Value

(CRV) program:

1. Beer and other malt beverages.

2. Wine coolers or distilled spirit coolers
(both 7% or less alcohol by volume).

3. Carbonated water, including soda and
carbonated mineral water.

4. Noncarbonated water, including noncarbonated
mineral water.

Carbonated soft drinks.
6. Noncarbonated soft drinks, and “sport” drinks.

7. Noncarbonated fruit drinks that contain any
percentage of fruit juice.

8. Coffee and tea drinks.
9. Carbonated fruit drinks.

10. Vegetable juice in beverage containers of 16
ounces or less.

11. 100% fruit juice in containers less than
46 ounces.

Stores should NOT sell the beverages listed above
unless the containers have a label that shows they
are included in the CRV program. B

Redeemable containers are labele
« CA REDEMPTION VALUE,

« CALIFORNIA REDEMPTION VALUE,
« CA CASH REFUND,

« CALIFORNIA CASH REFUND, OR

« CA CRV

If you choose to charge CRV to customers on eligible
beverages, you are encouraged to show the CRV
payment as a separate item on your cash register
receipts. The CRV portion is subject to sales tax only
if the sale of the beverage is subject to sales tax.
CRV is 5¢ for each beverage container less than 24

ounces, and 10¢ for each container 24 ounces or
more.

Sign requirements for all stores that
sell CRV beverage containers:

You must post a sign that tells customers where they
can redeem CRV bottles and cans. The sign must be at
least 10 by 5 inches and must be placed in a clear and
conspicuous location at ALL public entrances to your
store. This sign must indicate the name and address

of the state-certified recycling nearest to you that
redeems all types of empty beverage containers. If you
are not sure of the nearest certified recycling center or
would like a complimentary sign call 1-800-RECYCLE
or (916) 322-0195, or send an e-mail to dealersigns@
CalRecycle.ca.gov.

If your location size is greater than 4,000 square feet of
sales and storage area, you are required to display CRV
as a separate component of the beverage container
price on all advertising and shelf labels. For example,

a six-pack of 12-ounce soda costing $1.99 may be
displayed as:

$1.99 + CRV

or $1.99 plus 30¢ CRV

or $1.99 + 30¢ CRV=$2.29

Recycle

Beverage Containers

For Cash

Recicle sus envases de bebidas y recibira dinero en efectivo*
i i AY).

1-800-RECYCLE *California Redemption Value/Cash Refund (CRV).
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Requirements for Stores Located
in Convenience Zones without a

Certified Recycling Center

A convenience zone is the area in a one-half mile
circle around a supermarket that has annual sales of
$2 million dollars or more.

Without a recycling center in your neighborhood,
customers who buy beverages from you will not
have a convenient place to get back the CRV they
paid at your store.

All stores in the convenience zone without a
Certified Recycling Center (unserved) will receive

a “First Notice” that they have 60 days until they

will have to redeem CRV bottles and cans or pay

a daily fee. If a recycling center opens within your
convenience zone, the Department of Resources
Recycling and Recovery (Department) will notify you
in writing, providing you with the name and address
of the recycling center.

If a certified recycling center is not established in
the convenience zone on or before the end of the
60-day “grace period,” then California Law requires
stores to do one of the following:

A. Redeem all empty California Redemption Value
(CRV) beverage containers brought to your store
during regular business hours by consumers. This
would mean paying customers CRV and storing
containers until they could be taken to a certified
recycling center, where you would get back the
CRV you paid your customers, or

B. Pay $100 per day to the Department. By paying
$100 per day, a store is relieved of its legal
obligation to redeem empty beverage containers
in-store. Please note that the $100 per day
payment is an option in California law and is not
afine.


http:CalRecycle.ca.gov



