If you choose Option A

In lieu of posting a sign showing the
name and address of the nearest
state-certified recycling center, you are
required to post a sign of at least 10 by
15 inches at all public entrances to your
place of business that specifies one of
the following:

1. Beverage containers may be
redeemed at all open cash registers
within this store.

2. Beverage containers may be
redeemed at (specify a designated
location) within this store.

You may use your own sign or the sign
provided by CalRecycle to post this
information.

Option A or B is not required if a

certified recycling center opens in your
convenience zone. If a recycling center
opens within your convenience zone,
CalRecycle will notify you in writing,
providing you with the name and address
of the recycling center.

Note: This handout does not cover
every aspect of the law.

If you have questions about dealer require-
ments, contact CalRecycle at (916) 322-0195,
or call 1-800-RECYCLE and your call will be
directed to the appropriate staff.

You can also visit our website:
www.calrecycle.ca.gov/BevContainer/
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This brochure is to inform store owners
who sell beverages of their responsibilities
under the California Beverage Container
Recycling and Litter Reduction Act.



Beverages included
in the California
Redemption Value
(CRV) program

Beer and other malt beverages

Wine coolers or distilled spirit coolers
(both 7% or less alcohol by volume)

Carbonated water, including soda
and carbonated mineral water

Noncarbonated water, including
noncarbonated mineral water

Carbonated soft drinks

Noncarbonated soft drinks and
“sport” drinks

Noncarbonated fruit drinks that
contain any percentage of fruit juice

Coffee and tea drinks
Carbonated fruit drinks

Vegetable juice in beverage
containers of 16 ounces or less

100% fruit juice in containers less
than 46 ounces

Redeemable containers are labeled:
* CA REDEMPTION VALUE

e CALIFORNIA REDEMPTION VALUE
e CA CASH REFUND

e CALIFORNIA CASH REFUND, OR

* CACRV

When you charge CRV on eligible beverages,
you are encouraged to show the CRV pay-
ment as a separate item on your cash register
receipts. The CRV portion is subject to sales
tax only if the sale of the beverage is subject
to sales tax.

Sign requirements
for stores that sell
CRV containers

You must post a sign that tells customers
where they can redeem CRV bottles and
cans.

If you have questions or would like a
complimentary sign, call 1-800-RECYCLE
or (916) 322-0195 or send an e-mail to
dealersigns@CalRecycle.ca.gov.

* The sign must be at
least 10"x15” and
must be placed in a
clear and conspic-
uous location at all
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public entrances to Recycle
your store. Beverage Containers
For Cash
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and address of the
closest state-certified | =
recycling center that
redeems all types

of empty beverage

containers.

Requirements for stores
located in convenience
zones without a certified
recycling center

A convenience zone is the one-half mile
radius around a supermarket with annual
sales of $2 million or more.

All stores in a convenience zone without
a certified recycling center will receive a
“First Notice” that they have 60 days to
start redeeming CRV bottles and cans or
pay a daily fee.

If a certified recycling center is not
established in the convenience zone on
or before the end of the 60-day period,
California law requires stores to do either:

Option A: Pay CRV on all eligible empty
beverage containers brought to your store
during regular business hours. This would
involve storing containers until they can
be taken to a certified recycling center or
processor.

Option B: Pay $100 per day to
CalRecycle. By paying this fee, you are
relieved of your legal obligation to redeem
empty beverage containers in-store.
However, you are still required to post a
sign indicating the name and address of
the closest state-certified recycling center.

CRV is 5¢ for each beverage container
less than 24 ounces, and 10¢ for each
container 24 ounces or more.



